2014 has come with a new reading challenge. My goal for this year is to read 20 books in English, and I’m doing it pretty good so far. I finished Extremely loud and incredibly close by Jonathan Safran Foer about an hour ago which is my fourth book of the year (read in english, of course).

Anyway. Today I just want to introduce the book I’ll be reading this weekend. It’s The knife of never letting go, the first book in the Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness, an author that I really recommend, even though I’ve only read one book by him, which is A monster calls.

If I finish The knife of never letting go before the Readthon ends I’ll probably pick up a short story collection by Dave Eggers. Sadly, I have to do other things besides reading this weekend (I’m not talking about my amazing social life, don’t get too excited). I’m going to assist to simulated tests (I’m preparing myself for the PSU test) tomorrow and study Geometry on Sunday. This doesn’t mean I am not reading on those days but it’s going to be harder than usual.

So, my goal for this Readathon is to read 512 pages. Let me know what is your goal and what are you planning to do to accomplish it!

I hope you guys have a nice weekend!

SATURDAY

Ante todo, lamento cambiar el idioma en medio de la entrada, pero estoy un poco escaso de tiempo y en inglés me demoraría más en escribir. Ayer fue un día regular en cuanto a lectura, llegué solamente hasta la 120 y, sorpresivamente, no leí nada en durante la jornada escolar, lo que es extraño porque suelo aprovechar los momentos libres para ir al parque y leer. ANYWAY, acabo de llegar a casa (15.00) después de los ensayos PSU que comenté más arriba y espero ponerme a leer en un rato. Aproveché los trayectos en subterráneo para leer y ya voy en la 200. Espero llegar a la 300 durante este día. Cruzo los dedos. ¡Espero que el día les esté cundiendo!

Sunday

Lo importante de este día: el desayuno. No. Lo siento. Me desperté tarde y no tenía ganas de preparar nada. Tampoco dejé algo listo la noche anterior como muchos de ustedes. Así que no. Lo siento.
Lo menos importante del día: las lecturas. Pese a la campaña iniciada por Isi, mis deberes no fueron ni aplazados ni mucho menos suspendidos. Así que ayer me tocó estudiar geometría y terminar un trabajo de química. Pero sí que leí. No alcancé a terminar mi lectura The knife of never letting go pero leí un total de 350 páginas en estos tres días. El libro tiene 512, pero solo 480 corresponden al libro en sí; el resto es un relato ambientado en el mundo de esta trilogía. Goodreads lo considera como un libro aparte 😛
En fin, como siempre en estas actividades de Isi, me lo he pasado muy bien. Hoy toca pasarme por sus blogs a ver cómo estuvieron. Veré sus desayunos con mucha envidia, quiero que lo sepan. Espero que hayan podido leer todo lo que tenían propuesto. Yo, por mi parte, espero terminar hoy mi lectura del Readathon.
Nos vemos en la próxima actividad!!

3 comentarios sobre “First Readathon of 2014

  1. I’m always astonished when I visit your blog and I see what an enthusiastic reader, blogger and participant you are! I love this detail about writing your post in English (I know how hard it is), you are my hero!!
    Regarding the book, I didn’t know it, but if you liked the previous book by the author, hope this one is at last as good as the other.
    And good luck for the readathon!

  2. Uff, qué nivel! Más quisiera yo tener ese dominio… Yo lo siento pero voy a comentar in spanish… Sorry! Mi maratón es menos valiente, que mi inglés está un pelín oxidado y tengo muchas cosas que hacer este finde. Pero intentaré sacar tiempo para leer algo.
    Besotes!!!

Responder

